**UPDATE**Not Wine Related! (But still, read on …!!) A Personal Appeal!

 

IMG_3369

WE raised a massive €1,768.15 at the end of play!  Plus there were other donations made for this appeal, but not through my Just Giving page – I don’t know what those amounts were, but if I know my friends at all, they were generous!  😀  

We raised enough for the TWO #Shelterboxes plus quite a good chunk extra.  

THANK YOU!!  There will be two families who will be able to start putting their lives back together again because of YOU.  

On the 1st November, I will turn the big FIVE OH!

I am a complete spoilt brat and have all I could possibly want in life, so when I heard about the dreadful earthquakes in Nepal, I decided that I would like donations to a special charity in lieu of birthday pressies.

My chosen charity is Shelterbox, a Cornwall based charity that is one of the first in hitting the ground running all over the world – giving essential aid to the worst hit disaster areas.  They are frontline workers, often putting themselves in mortal danger as they help others.

My initial target of raising enough money to buy a single Shelterbox kit has been smashed and exceeded by nearly 50% (apologies to my long suffering maths-headed hubby if I have that percentage wrong!)  So, my new target – which I am asking YOU to help me reach is to buy at least TWO Shelterbox kits by 1st November.  They cost £590.00 each (About $900.00 or €795.00)  As of today (14th October, the total stands at €1,220.42.  If you are in the UK, you can do the Gift Aid thing too!

Rescue workers remove debris as they search for victims of earthquake in Bhaktapur near Kathmandu, Nepal, Sunday, April 26, 2015. A strong magnitude earthquake shook Nepal's capital and the densely populated Kathmandu Valley before noon Saturday, causing extensive damage with toppled walls and collapsed buildings, officials said. (AP Photo/Niranjan Shrestha)

Rescue workers remove debris as they search for victims of earthquake in Bhaktapur near Kathmandu, Nepal, Sunday, April 26, 2015. A strong magnitude earthquake shook Nepal’s capital and the densely populated Kathmandu Valley before noon Saturday, causing extensive damage with toppled walls and collapsed buildings, officials said. (AP Photo/Niranjan Shrestha)

The page I chose to use for donations is the ‘JustGiving‘ site where all donations given go directly to the charity.  I have nothing to do with the passing of the donations, the site automatically transfers the money to the charity.

Here is the link to Shelterbox where you can find out more of what they do – ShelterBox

Whats in a Shelterbox?

Here is the link to my JustGiving page ….  JustGiving Fundraising Page for Giselle Stafford

Thank you all so much!  If I can reach the target of at least TWO #Shelterboxes, that would be the best birthday present of all!

Giselle xxx

This entry was posted in Celebration, Events, Personal, Shelterbox and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment